Muddy people : a Muslim coming-of-age
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Vancouver ; Berkeley ; London : Greystone Books, 2022.
ISBN
9781771649971, 1771649976
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Batavia Public Library District - Adult Nonfiction305.697 ELSOn Shelf
Berwyn Public Library - Stacks994.07 ELSOn Shelf
Downers Grove Public Library - 2nd Floor - AdultBIOGRAPHY EL SAYED, S.On Shelf
Geneva Public Library District - 2nd Flr - TeenYA 921 ELOn Shelf
Glen Ellyn Public Library - Adult BiographyBIOG EL SAYED, S.On Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
248 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English
ISBN
9781771649971, 1771649976

Notes

General Note
Previously published: Carlton, Vic.: Black Inc., 2021.
Description
"A quick, clever, warm-hearted debut about growing up in an Egyptian-Muslim family. Sara is growing up in a family with a lot of rules. Her mother tells her she's not allowed to wear a bikini, her father tells her she's not allowed to drink alcohol, and her grandmother tells her to never trust a man with her money. After leaving Egypt when Sara was only six years old, her family slowly learns how to navigate the social dynamics of their new home. Sara feels out of place in her new school. Her father refuses to buy his coworkers a ginger beer, thinking it contains alcohol. Her mother refuses to wear a hijab, even if it would help them connect with other local Muslims. And Sara learns what it feels like to have a crush on a boy, that some classmates are better friends than others, and that her parents are loving, but flawed people who don't always know what's best for her, despite being her strongest defenders. For readers of Patricia Lockwood's Priestdaddy and Michelle Zauner's Crying in H Mart, this heartwarming book about family and identity introduces a compelling new voice, with a coming-of-age story that will speak to everyone who's ever struggled to figure out where they belong."--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

El Sayed, S. (2022). Muddy people: a Muslim coming-of-age . Greystone Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

El Sayed, Sara. 2022. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming-of-age. Vancouver ; Berkeley ; London: Greystone Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

El Sayed, Sara. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming-of-age Vancouver ; Berkeley ; London: Greystone Books, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

El Sayed, Sara. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming-of-age Greystone Books, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.