Muddy People: A Muslim Coming of Age
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Greystone Books, 2022.
ISBN
9781771649988
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Sara El Sayed., & Sara El Sayed|AUTHOR. (2022). Muddy People: A Muslim Coming of Age . Greystone Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Sara El Sayed and Sara El Sayed|AUTHOR. 2022. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming of Age. Greystone Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Sara El Sayed and Sara El Sayed|AUTHOR. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming of Age Greystone Books, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Sara El Sayed, and Sara El Sayed|AUTHOR. Muddy People: A Muslim Coming of Age Greystone Books, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5adb6078-2ce4-046b-1c4d-2b6c25985ce0-eng
Full titlemuddy people a muslim coming of age
Authorsayed sara el
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2022-10-18 21:40:17PM
Last Indexed2023-01-31 02:20:35AM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedJun 15, 2022
Last UsedSep 17, 2022

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Sara El Sayed
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/csp_9781771649988_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 15029851
    [isbn] => 9781771649988
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Muddy People
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Sara El Sayed
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Biography & Autobiography
            [1] => Cultural, Ethnic & Regional
            [2] => Essays
            [3] => Humor
            [4] => Islam
            [5] => Literary Collections
            [6] => Personal Memoirs
            [7] => Religion
            [8] => Rituals & Practice
            [9] => Topic
        )

    [price] => 1.99
    [id] => 15029851
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => "By turns heartfelt, bitingly funny, and emotionally devastating, Muddy People is not your average coming-of-age tale. I loved this memoir of a young Egyptian-Australian girl growing up Muslim. It's a clear-eyed, fierce debut; every word rings true."-Nadine Jolie Courtney, author of All-American Muslim Girl 
	A quick, clever debut that is "like the best kind of cake: warm, sweet, a bit nutty-and made with so much love."-Alice Pung, author of Unpolished Gem 
	Sara is growing up in a family with a lot of rules. Her mother tells her she's not allowed to wear a bikini, her father tells her she's not allowed to drink alcohol, and her grandmother tells her to never trust a man with her money. 
	After leaving Egypt when Sara was only six years old, her family slowly learns how to navigate the social dynamics of their new home. Sara feels out of place in her new school. Her father refuses to buy his coworkers a ginger beer, thinking it contains alcohol. Her mother refuses to wear a hijab, even if it would help them connect with other local Muslims. And Sara learns what it feels like to have a crush on a boy, that some classmates are better friends than others, and that her parents are loving, but flawed people who don't always know what's best for her, despite being her strongest defenders.
	For readers of Patricia Lockwood's Priestdaddy and Michelle Zauner's Crying in H Mart, this heartwarming book about family and identity introduces a compelling new voice, with a coming-of-age story that will speak to everyone who's ever struggled to figure out where they belong.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/15029851
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Muslim Coming of Age
    [publisher] => Greystone Books
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)